English French

Participating Countries - Burundi

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Republic of Burundi is a landlocked country   in the Great Lakes region of Eastern Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south and the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Lake Tanganyika to the west. Burundi is located between 2º15 and 4º30 latitude south and 29º00 and 31º00 longitude east. The Capital city of Burundi is Bujumbura situated in the North Eastern shore of Lake Tanganyika. The population is about 10 million and it is not a member of IGAD

Burundi is a part of the Arbertine rift and the highest peak is mount Heha at 8761 feet ( 2670 m). Kibira the country’s largest forest, cover around 40’000 ha and is an extension of the Rwanda Nyungwe forest. Kibira is an important water catchment area and tree quarter of Burundi’s rivers originate from the forest moreover, the nation’s hydroelectric power station is located in the Kibira, which is rich in biodiversity and protects the surrounding regions against erosion.

Burundi Rivers form an important part of the geographical features as they serve as natural boundaries, sources of water and hydroelectric power. The major rivers are Ruzizi, Ruvubu, Kagera, Maragarazi, Kanyaru, etc.  The Kagera river and the Ruvubu river form the sources of the Nile while the Ruzizi river flow into the Congo river basin.  Its major lakes include Tanganyika, Cohoha South, Rwihinda, RweruKanzingiri, among others. The other wetlands are Riverine Swamps and Floodplains.

Carte Physique Du Burundi                                          Burundi Hydrological Network Map

The Hydrological Service under Hydrometeorological Department is responsible for the implementation of IGAD-HYCOS Project in Burundi. The staff involved are Mr. Gerard Ntungumburanye (Steering Committee Member) and Mr. Aloys Rurantije (National Focal Point). For more information, click here: Official Burundi Government Web Site.

Login to post comments
Design by DDS