English French

Participating Countries - Kenya

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Republic of Kenya, lies across the equator from 33°50′~41°45′ E longitude to 5°20′ N~4°40′ S latitude, on the Eastern Africa. The country covers an approximate area of 582,646 sq km with 1,025km longest distance from north to south edge. Kenya borders Ethiopia to North, Somalia to North East, Tanzania to South; Uganda to West and South Sudan to North-West. To the Southeast is the Indian Ocean whose coastline is about 536km. The topography is characterized by low lying coastal plains and high altitude in the mainland (average 2,000 m asl). Inland water bodies cover 10,700km sq, the largest being Lake Victoria and Lake Turkana. The country has an estimated population of 41 million (2013) with a population density of 67.2. The highest point is Mt. Kenya (5119m asl). The country has a bimodal rainfall pattern with average annual rainfall of 630mm. The Northern part is covered by the desert and semi-desert, and occupies 56% of the total area. The average annual maximum temperature ranges from 22℃ to 26℃ and the minimum temperature ranging between 10℃ and 14℃.The monthly mean temperature lies between 14℃ and 19℃ with a temperate climate. The capital city is Nairobi, which is a regional commercial hub. Kenya is a member of IGAD and the headquarters of United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP).

Kenya is endowed with lots of features such as the Great Rift Valley which traverse through the country from north to south, Coastal plains, Nyika Plateaus, semi deserts, lakes, forests among others. Some of the lakes include Lake Turkana, Victoria (second largest fresh-water lake and the largest tropical lake), Naivasha, Nakuru, Baringo and Magadi. The main rivers are Nzoia, Yala, Nyando, Tana, Athi and Ewaso Ngiro. The major mountains are Mt. Kenya (highest), Mt. Elgon, Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Longonot. The country also has swamps among them being Lorian and Yala swamps. Kenya is known for diverse wildlife reserves and national parks such as East and West Tsavo, Maasai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Aberdares which are habitats for Elephants, Leopards, Rhinoceros, Wildebeests, Cheetah, and Lions among others.

The Ministry of Environment, Water and Natural Resources is responsible for formulation, review and implementation of policy on the Environment, water , and reclamation of  degraded lands for sustainable development. The Department of Water Resources  Management is responsible for the Implementation of IGAD-HYCOS Project in Kenya through Mr. John Rao Nyaoro (Steering Committee Member) and Mr. Simintei Ole Kooke (National Focal Point). For more information click https://www.facebook.com/minwaterkenya

Last modified on Thursday, 14 November 2013 20:47
Login to post comments
Design by DDS